Simblesse Oblige Forum Index Simblesse Oblige
Forums for serious Simmers to share knowledge about The Sims 1
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

ssw_18tiled deco item - Problem?! **resolved**
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Simblesse Oblige Forum Index -> Hacker's Hideout
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mdamlady
Member
Member


Joined: 21 Oct 2007
Posts: 2302
Location: Gillespie, Il. USA - Nut House

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:09 am    Post subject: ssw_18tiled deco item - Problem?! **resolved** Reply with quote

I had this problem before, but couldn't find a solution within my limited hacking abilities!!

A complete row of the "car" won't move by using Iff Pencil 2 with Raeven's Explanation of how to make items 3rd floor.

When I try; it swaps graphics from a different tile!!

Here's what I found in Iff Pencil, but have no real idea what I'm looking at - it just looked strange!! The are no numbers in quotes for row 1.

Help?!



SSWbase_18tiledeco_iff.png
 Description:
 Filesize:  21.79 KB
 Viewed:  6309 Time(s)

SSWbase_18tiledeco_iff.png



_________________
DAM Sim 1 Objects

DAM Sim 1 Objects 2

DAM Sims 1 Objects 3

DAM Sims 1 Objects 4


Last edited by mdamlady on Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:27 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raeven
Member
Member


Joined: 24 Aug 2006
Posts: 4074

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 12:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No numbers between the quotes just mean that resource was not given a name.

Swapping graphics should only occur when the sprite id is changed in the DRGP. Changing the offset does not change the sprite id but when the sprite is raised it may reveal something that was previously invisible.
If the DRGP lists multiple sprites each would need to be offset individually.

_________________
"Laws control the lesser man... Right conduct controls the greater one." -Mark Twain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdamlady
Member
Member


Joined: 21 Oct 2007
Posts: 2302
Location: Gillespie, Il. USA - Nut House

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's clear as mud!! no

Is it because you used the "car" as a base?

_________________
DAM Sim 1 Objects

DAM Sim 1 Objects 2

DAM Sims 1 Objects 3

DAM Sims 1 Objects 4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raeven
Member
Member


Joined: 24 Aug 2006
Posts: 4074

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

O.o I'm afraid the "it" in the question is too vague for me.

However, if you still have the base's graphics then there's only one sprite per DGRP and no second image is "being revealed" nor does it matter that sprites need to be moved individually.

Quote:
That's clear as mud!!

Yep, I guess that's always a big risk when I guess at what the problem might be as without any details. However, if you looked back over your work in iffpencil you'd spot the "sprite id" mentioned and I imagine it would be clearer to some degree.

You may even find that the graphics swap is due to a mistake on your part - perhaps your focus was in the sprite id field instead of the Z offset field. (Seems unlikely since it would have given you an error message when you typed the first digit in, but again I'm just shooting in the dark to see if something hits)

Sticking with what you've said I can pare the response down to a rather unsatisfactory
Quote:
No numbers between the quotes just mean that resource was not given a name.

Swapping graphics should only occur when the sprite id is changed in the DRGP.

Both of which are as clear as I can state them and boil down to "that does not matter" for the one, and "you don't actually have the problem you are experiencing" for the other. Obviously it's the latter that's the unsatisfactory bit.

I'd be happy to try to recreate the problem if you can tell a bit more detail about it (what tile, for example, and if it's in a specific DRGP frame, and how high you are raising it. What graphic is swaps to might also be useful for comparing results but would not be needed or recreating the issue.)

_________________
"Laws control the lesser man... Right conduct controls the greater one." -Mark Twain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdamlady
Member
Member


Joined: 21 Oct 2007
Posts: 2302
Location: Gillespie, Il. USA - Nut House

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll have to go back into Iff Pencil and see which tiles are swapping and take pics as I go!!

I was trying to raise it one floor (16) and I followed your instructions on that.

I've raised a couple of dozen objects using the Iff Pencil method and they worked just fine till I got to this one base.

I'll be back as I'd love to solve my dilemma - I know I must be doing something wrong, but darned if I know what!!

_________________
DAM Sim 1 Objects

DAM Sim 1 Objects 2

DAM Sims 1 Objects 3

DAM Sims 1 Objects 4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mdamlady
Member
Member


Joined: 21 Oct 2007
Posts: 2302
Location: Gillespie, Il. USA - Nut House

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm back!!

Here's what I have:

This is the item that I'm trying to raise:



I go to the first drawgroup 100:



But the number of the ID changes to 1000, but the sprite pic is right?

Of course when I put in 14 it swaps to this:



This is Sprite 1000 graphics.
I try to scroll up to 100 it bumps back to 1000.

What Have I done wrong?

_________________
DAM Sim 1 Objects

DAM Sim 1 Objects 2

DAM Sims 1 Objects 3

DAM Sims 1 Objects 4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DamonDamore
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 26 Mar 2007
Posts: 2647

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only thing I can think to try is doing it in TMog and seeing if that cooperates with you.
_________________
Feel free to PM me. If you've already posed in a thread feel free to link me. Sometimes I miss posts in threads for whatever reason. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
mdamlady
Member
Member


Joined: 21 Oct 2007
Posts: 2302
Location: Gillespie, Il. USA - Nut House

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I moved it up through T-Mog already - approximately 1 floor or so, but I used this base on another project and I hope I find out what's happening!!

It's a huge base and so much easier in Iff Pencil than in T-Mog!!

Maybe someone with smarter eyes; can see the fix!!

_________________
DAM Sim 1 Objects

DAM Sim 1 Objects 2

DAM Sims 1 Objects 3

DAM Sims 1 Objects 4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Van
Member
Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was messing around with a bath's sprites a while ago and encountered a similar problem, also with sprite 1000. I'm not sure how this works but perhaps you could try renaming the sprite in the SPR2 section to a different number ?
If I'm not mistaken Aponee also mentioned that IFF pencil had problems with sprite 1000 but I can't remember in which thread. Sorry I can't be more help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdamlady
Member
Member


Joined: 21 Oct 2007
Posts: 2302
Location: Gillespie, Il. USA - Nut House

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never renamed any thing like that before and frankly I'd be lost or really screw it up even more!!

I might be able to do it if someone could give me the step-by-step!!

_________________
DAM Sim 1 Objects

DAM Sim 1 Objects 2

DAM Sims 1 Objects 3

DAM Sims 1 Objects 4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raeven
Member
Member


Joined: 24 Aug 2006
Posts: 4074

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I was trying to raise it one floor (16) and I followed your instructions on that.

Bit of a side note here but but 15 might be the correct number, if it all starts at 0 (0 through 15 = 16 positions). So if it seems a little too high try 15.

Quote:
But the number of the ID changes to 1000, but the sprite pic is right?

I seeeee. The base is also rejecting Sprite#100, so I guess that sprite resource (SPR2) is corrupted.
BOOO. OK let me see if I can't fix the base by replacing that SPR2 with a good one.

Quote:
I moved it up through T-Mog already - approximately 1 floor or so,...

That's an entirely different animal. Moving something upward by the Y axis rather than the Z offset means you must also change the Z-buffers to match. When you use the Z-offset the game calculates the new Z-buffer for you (based on the original Z, made for the original position)

Quote:
It's a huge base ...

Wait till I get around to doing the schoolbus muhahahaha
Quote:
...and so much easier in Iff Pencil than in T-Mog!!

ya know.. people never say that! *hug*

_________________
"Laws control the lesser man... Right conduct controls the greater one." -Mark Twain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdamlady
Member
Member


Joined: 21 Oct 2007
Posts: 2302
Location: Gillespie, Il. USA - Nut House

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you ever so much!!

I've been playing around with the different numbers when raising to the next floor and you can get all kinds of levels by just changing the last digit!!

Like having deco windows and doors that can go on towers for castle etc!!

You're truly a God Send!! notworthy hug

Got the Z's on those raised items to nearly black in most cases!! Found that out the hard way!!

_________________
DAM Sim 1 Objects

DAM Sim 1 Objects 2

DAM Sims 1 Objects 3

DAM Sims 1 Objects 4


Last edited by mdamlady on Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Van
Member
Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found the post:
http://simblesseoblige.com/viewtopic.php?t=6961
Knew my memory wasn't that bad! blush
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mdamlady
Member
Member


Joined: 21 Oct 2007
Posts: 2302
Location: Gillespie, Il. USA - Nut House

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I remember reading that post, but at the time I wasn't even any where nearing creating anything that elaborate!!

Thanks for the link though!!

_________________
DAM Sim 1 Objects

DAM Sim 1 Objects 2

DAM Sims 1 Objects 3

DAM Sims 1 Objects 4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Raeven
Member
Member


Joined: 24 Aug 2006
Posts: 4074

PostPosted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was wrong. The SPR2 resource is just fine. The problem is a glitch in IffPencil. As I started working on it I remembered a weir thing from years ago. The drop down menu's method of going to the next set of numbers wigs out in some way I don't understand so IffPencil believes that 1000 is the 100 that comes before 200.

The fix is to change SPR2 100 to SPR 101.
Iffpencil stops being confused then (again.. no clue why).
After renumbering the SPR2 resource you'll be able to pick 101 from the drop down list.

If you renumber 100 to 101 you'll get an error pop up (cannot display sprite) each of the 6 times you need to change it in the DRGP.

If you duplicate it you can make the 6 changes without it BONK!!!ing at you over and over. You can delete SPR100 afterward.

I'll make the same fix to the base and upload that today.


EDIT:
Ah well looks like ya'll figured it out without me :)
Sorry, I missed that!

_________________
"Laws control the lesser man... Right conduct controls the greater one." -Mark Twain


Last edited by Raeven on Fri Jul 22, 2011 7:57 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Simblesse Oblige Forum Index -> Hacker's Hideout All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group