Simblesse Oblige Forum Index Simblesse Oblige
Forums for serious Simmers to share knowledge about The Sims 1
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Career skins change

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Simblesse Oblige Forum Index -> Hacker's Hideout
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Abeternal
Member
Member


Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 26
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Sun Jan 01, 2012 6:13 am    Post subject: Career skins change Reply with quote

How does one go about editing/changing career skins in the game? Would it be enough simply to put appropriately named ones in the skins folder? Would this replace what's in the cars or would one have to do some far-editing?
_________________
Sic Transit Gloria Mundi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aaron_of_Mpls
Member
Member


Joined: 11 Jan 2007
Posts: 976
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can edit ...\The Sims\GameData\careers.iff to specify which skins and meshes are used for various jobs, either with IFF Pencil (TSR, Simprograms) or Career Creator (TSR, Simprograms).
_________________
~ But it's got Spam in it! ~
-- Aaron's Sims Page -- The Sims 1 objects and skins --
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Abeternal
Member
Member


Joined: 08 Apr 2011
Posts: 26
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 4:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is great. Just a question... when you specify a new skin/texture in CC3, do you have to have that skin/mesh in your Gamedata/Skins folder? I assume you don't have to edit the actual iff when using CC3?
_________________
Sic Transit Gloria Mundi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DamonDamore
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 26 Mar 2007
Posts: 2656

PostPosted: Wed Jan 11, 2012 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Abeternal wrote:
That is great. Just a question... when you specify a new skin/texture in CC3, do you have to have that skin/mesh in your Gamedata/Skins folder? I assume you don't have to edit the actual iff when using CC3?

Yes, it has to be there or the game won't be able to find it, unless you're willing to do funny things with FARs. Not sure how CC3 works, so I can't help you there.

_________________
Feel free to PM me. If you've already posed in a thread feel free to link me. Sometimes I miss posts in threads for whatever reason. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Simblesse Oblige Forum Index -> Hacker's Hideout All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group