Simblesse Oblige Forum Index Simblesse Oblige
Forums for serious Simmers to share knowledge about The Sims 1
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

I can't access the forum at all from my home wifi....

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Simblesse Oblige Forum Index -> Member Assistance and Contact Information
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
WholeHeart
Member
Member


Joined: 21 Oct 2011
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed Jul 29, 2015 2:44 am    Post subject: I can't access the forum at all from my home wifi.... Reply with quote

At the moment I'm using data on my smartphone. :p Every time in the last couple of days I've tried to get on by wifi (either on my computer or my phone) I get a 403 Forbidden Error. I can't make head nor tail of the explanation it gives, which seems to be directed at the webmaster. Is there any way to fix that? It's starting to get annoying. :p The rest of the internet seems to be working fine; it's just this forum I can't access.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WholeHeart
Member
Member


Joined: 21 Oct 2011
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, I'm guessing nobody knows why and I'm just going to have to wait a couple of weeks and see if the problem fixes itself :p Maybe it's a problem with the specific dynamic IP address (wifi is usually dynamic, right? I have no idea what I'm talking about on that) and when it rotates to a different one I will stop getting the error message. I can hope, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zosa
Member
Member


Joined: 03 Aug 2015
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what exactly is it saying? can you post the exact text?
_________________
if you know me from another sim site please do not talk to me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DamonDamore
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 26 Mar 2007
Posts: 2659

PostPosted: Tue Aug 04, 2015 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

most home networks don't have a static IP. You should be able to go into your router setting and click "DHCP Release" then "DHCP Renew" to get a new IP.

Or you can unplug your modem, spell 'Opportunity' in the old schoolmaster's way ("Opportunity with an 'O' 'P' 'P', 'Opp'. Opportunity with an 'Opp' and a 'O' 'R', 'Or', Opportunity with an 'Opp' and an 'Or' and a 'T', 'U', 'N' 'Tun'... and so on) then plug it back in. Or just count to 75.

_________________
Feel free to PM me. If you've already posed in a thread feel free to link me. Sometimes I miss posts in threads for whatever reason. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
WholeHeart
Member
Member


Joined: 21 Oct 2011
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Wed Aug 05, 2015 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works again! Um, yeah, my husband forgot to pay the internet bill, so it got cut off for a day and a half, and when we got it back I could get here again. Thanks for the tips in case it happens again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Simblesse Oblige Forum Index -> Member Assistance and Contact Information All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group