Simblesse Oblige Forum Index Simblesse Oblige
Forums for serious Simmers to share knowledge about The Sims 1
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New sprites for cloned object are offset

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Simblesse Oblige Forum Index -> Object Creation and Recolor Shop
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Pyro
Member
Member


Joined: 17 Nov 2007
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 8:03 pm    Post subject: New sprites for cloned object are offset Reply with quote

Just occurred to me to ask about this now, but I've been scratching my head over this since I started Tmogging. rolleyes

If I import new sprites for a cloned object, often times the sprites are offset from the tile--the new object might be located a full tile away from where it should be, even though the original was fine and I never touched the positioning settings. It seems to happen for any major change, unless I'm just doing a really basic recolor, eg. making a sofa green instead of pink.

Why does this happen? I might think that it's because of the difference in dimensions (of the object's non-transparent pixels) between the object I clone and the new sprites, but the distance often seems greater than that alone can account for. I feel like if I knew what caused it, it would be easier to fix (or even prevent), which would make object creation a lot easier. Has anybody figured this out?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Madoria
Member
Member


Joined: 31 Aug 2006
Posts: 1725
Location: Scandinavia

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 10:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it is because the game calculates the placement of the object from were the OLD graphics used to be - and the left , lowest pixel to be specific! This I learned from Bunny Wuffles and it has helped me a l o t

When I make new graphics I never randomly place them on the p sprite / alpha/ z . I make sure the lowest left pixel of my new item covers the lowest left pixel of the old graphics !
Off course a little bit I still have to tweak the x and y in t-mog .

Susanne

_________________
On the Wall Sims 2 Doodelings
Madoria's Sims 1 World
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Pyro
Member
Member


Joined: 17 Nov 2007
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2012 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I always place the sprites so that the center of the new object's base is in the same part of the image as the center of the old object's base, but they still end up offset. So... it's actually using the non-transparent pixels, not the whole sprites? :\ That would explain a lot! biggrin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Simblesse Oblige Forum Index -> Object Creation and Recolor Shop All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group